Grant DeVolson Wood (1891 – 1942) was an American painter, paintings of rural American Midwest and American Gothic.

Music by Armik
Paintings by James Murray

Both tube sites are moving and changing…moving to a new server and changing to php7.0 scripts to 2019 versions

Grant DeVolson Wood (February 13, 1891 – February 12, 1942) was an American painter best known for his paintings depicting the rural American Midwest, particularly American Gothic (1930), which has become an iconic painting of the 20th century.

Wood was born in rural Iowa, 4 mi (6 km) east of Anamosa, in 1891. His mother moved the family to Cedar Rapids after his father died in 1901. Soon thereafter, Wood began as an apprentice in a local metal shop. After graduating from Washington High School, Wood enrolled in The Handicraft Guild, an art school run entirely by women in Minneapolis in 1910 (now a prominent artist collective in the city). He is said to have later returned to the Guild to paint American Gothic. A year later, Wood returned to Iowa, where he taught in a rural one-room schoolhouse. In 1913, he enrolled at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and performed some work as a silversmith.

From 1922 to 1928, Wood made four trips to Europe, where he studied many styles of painting, especially Impressionism and post-Impressionism. However, it was the work of the 15th-century Flemish artist Jan van Eyck that influenced him to take on the clarity of this technique and to incorporate it in his new works.

List of Artworks, Paintings

Spotted Man (1924)
Fall Plowing, Grant Wood
The Little Chapel Chancelade (1926)
Woman with Plants (1929)
American Gothic (1930)
Arnold Comes of Age (1930)
Stone City, Iowa (1930)
Appraisal (1931)
Young Corn (1931)
Fall Plowing (1931)
The Birthplace of Herbert Hoover, West Branch, Iowa (1931)
The Midnight Ride of Paul Revere (1931)
Plaid Sweater (1931)
Self-Portrait (1932)
Arbor Day (1932)
Boy Milking Cow (1932)
Daughters of Revolution (1932)
Portrait of Nan (1933)
Near Sundown (1933)
Dinner for Threshers (1934)
Return from Bohemia (1935)
Death on Ridge Road (1935)
Spring Turning (1936)
Seedtime and Harvest (1937)
Sultry Night (1937)
Haying (1939)
New Road (1939)
Parson Weems’ Fable (1939)
January (1940)
Iowa Cornfield (1941)
Spring in the Country (1941)